Currently in Grid Mirage and wanting to transition

All,

I've been running in the Mirage II since about 7 months ago, but due to injury and my son being born, I've only gotten about 200mi on them and they're pretty beat up.  I had planned on transitioning to a new shoe in the couple weeks leading up to the Tough Mudder (one week from this Saturday), but then hurt my knee (still not sure what I did...). 

I was only up to about 15-18mi per week, running 3 days/week.  I was wanting to transition to the Merrell Bare Access 2 (which I picked over the original model because it actually HAS an outsole).  Considering I previously ran in Asics 2160's with orthotics (which I also wore when I first started with my Mirages), does this sound completely insane?

Comments

• If you've had no issues in the Mirage, it's not insane as long as you transition gradually. You can probably get an early model Mirage for really cheap right now since the Mirage 3 is about to come out and mix the two shoes in together. I just got the Bare Access 2 and it looks promising, though I didn't have much problem with the original in terms of durability. Just go easy on your calves - they probably will be sore initially, and some foam rolling can be a big help!
  • I remember initially having calf issues with the Mirage--a foam roller was part of my [first] Father's Day gift.  I pretty much never have issues now.

I'm still waiting on Merrell to ship the BA2's so I can get them from Roadrunner Sports, but if I don't like them, I'm eyeing up the Brooks PureCadence or PureFlow.  Gotta love 90-day guarantees!
    Socks are a scam. Just saying :-)
  • I'll probably have to transition gradually simply because I haven't run in almost a month now.  When you say "gradually", Peter, do you mean like a mile or two at a time?