From Montrail Masochist to less structure- Suggestions?

I've been running in the Montrail Masochist for the last four years of my five year running career (primarily trail).  It became my One-and-Only when I could slip on a pair fresh out of the box and run a 5K with no "breaking in" period.  I love the heel cup.  I love the width.  The traction is pretty decent.  They're also great for hiking, backpacking, and grocery shopping.  And the biggest reason I haven't yet made the switch: I can almost ALWAYS find a pair in my size for about $60 shipped on the internet.  

That being said, I've found that there is inconsistency in how well each pair is built (I'm assuming that different colors come from different factories, etc).  Parts of the upper will break down, about 2/3rds of my pairs the tongue starts to slip off to the side no matter how I lace it, and I can tell where the heel is now a bit too high for my stride because it wears off so fast.  I'm at a point where I don't need quite so much structure in a trail shoe, and I'd prefer to "feel" a little more.

I'm open to suggestions, dear Runblogger Forum Members.  I've done some research, but I'm not a "shoe geek," and I bow to the expertise here.  While I know I will try the other Montrail models that are out there (though the reviews have not been stellar) I'm not married to them and would love to hear what might fit similarly.

Comments

• edited April 10
    I haven't run in the Montrails, but I've put a fair number of miles on the Salomon Sense Pro over the past few weeks and have fallen in love with them. About an ounce lighter, and half the drop of the Masochist. They feel like a racing flat for the trails.
  • I'm not going to lie...I thought you were making up the shoe name!
  • The Saloman Sense Pro look really cool, and I'd love to try them out, but at $130 a pop, I'd be leary of going there.