'Pushing-off'

edited March 17 in Running Form
Many runners refer to their 'push-off' or 'toe-off' when describing their running or perhaps discussing shoes that are designed to help it.

I wrote an article recently as to why 'pushing-off' slows you down when you run and is something you should work at eliminating.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1EVUWLs-k8Ty-5EZfss-xAQgG-BF5xPCrAwn1X2lJTDQ/edit?usp=sharing

Comments

• You clearly don't understand running mechanics.  Sadly being a Pose advocate requires you to leave understanding of actual physics behind and enter the world of make believe.

Gravity absolutely doesn't pull you forward, it's a vertical force, it accelerates you downwards.  We even define up in our world based on the direction that aligns with the local gravitational vector, so by definition gravity *always* pulls you downwards. (FYI I have an engineering degree so I really do know about this stuff.)

One of the subtle effects of being a biped is that we use imbalance to helps go faster or slower.  When we want to accelerate, such as when we start running, what we do is we lean forward.  If we lean forward and not push off at all, such as if you locked your knees and totally relaxed your ankle what would happen is that you'd fall forward an land on your face.  Here we've created an imbalance but never re-balanced it by pushing off.