Recovering from stress fracture
  • I was training for my second marathon a month ago. I had been wearing inserts in my shoes for six years due to plantar fasciitis way back in 2007. I was reading Tread Lightly and I wanted to transition to a more minimalist approach after the marathon. I had a new pair of GoRun2 waiting for me. In the mean time, I foolishly convinced myself that merely removing the inserts from my existing shoes wasn't going too far as I felt great without them. All of my previous knee pain disappeared. Then, one week before the taper I ran too fast and too far without the inserts and ended up with a stress fracture in the anke area. Three weeks in a boot and one missed marathon later the Dr has told me to start walking and to "let the pain be my guide." I haven't tried to do more than walk around the house and I only feel a dull ache in the ankle.

My questions are: 1) How long should I wait before starting to run? 2) Should I go forward with the transition or go back to highly cushioned shoes? 3) Should I even deam of running a marathon in the fall?

• I have similar history/background and if you want any more info on what I've specifically done let me know.  To answer your questions with my (humble) opinion:

1) How Long - with my stress fracture (foot not ankle though) I waited 9 weeks and then used a back from injury training plan
    2) Transition y/n - I think you knew where you went wrong (too much too soon) - I say take a more conservative approach and transition slowly. I had a few blips in my transition as well even when I thought I was transitioning slowly.  You may need to focus on other work - core work - adductor/hip work to strengthen (this has been KEY for me)
    3) Marathon in the fall?  Focus on transitioning slowly and see how it goes, perhaps a 1/2 marathon is a good start/goal.