Lost: Seeking a new "minimalist" shoe for ultra-marathons;

My story is actually the reverse of the typical person seeking minimalist shoe advice.  I have been running regularly for the past two years (started later in life), and began running in VFF from the beginning.  I fully adjusted (calves/legs/feet), and my very flat-feet have actually developed arches. What used to be miserable when I tried it in the past has become pleasurable thanks to discovering minimal running.  I have run a road marathon in Vibram Bikilas and a 50k trail race in Merrell Trailgloves.

As much as I love running in my VFFs and Trailgloves, I am really wanting to feel less soreness in my feet when I run very long distances, so I am seeking a shoe that I can run my next 50k race in (May 4) where I continue to run with the same gait and form that I do in the VFFs, but with some cushion so that my feet aren't as beat up after a 50k.  In other words I don't want to undo any of my progress in being a minimalist runner.

I've had little luck with this on the internet because most of the advice is about transitioning to minimalist running, whereas I started with minimal running and have no context or experience with more.  

Thanks!

Comments

• Unfortunately, no one will be able to tell you what shoes to get. It's a little bit like asking for favourite colours.

Why don't you check this shoe finder:

http://www.runningwarehouse.com/apparelfinder.html?finder=meshoes

Select 0 mm heel drop and see what you get. Take a look at the stack heights. The lower end are those ~ 8mm shoes. I'd say since you're experienced 8 - 13 mm stack height should be enough. You can also take a look at the note for arch structure in the product description. May be important to you. The rest is finding s shoe that fits your feet.