Transitioning to Zero Drop - Hurt my Achilles (I believe) - What to do?

Hello all - 

I've never been much of a runner, although I've run for a few events in the past (a 1/2 marathon 3 years ago, a triathlon last year).  I plan to run a lot more going forward, primarily to do several triathlons per year.

I recently started learning about minimalism and low-drop shoes, and decided I wanted to make the switch.  I needed knew shoes, so what the heck.  I tried about 8 different pair, and ended up keeping the Kinvara 3, Sketchers Go Bionic, and the Merrell Trail Glove - obviously they all serve slightly different purposes.

Over the last 3-4 weeks, I've run an average of about 5 times per week (2-4mi).  I've run twice on the Merrell's, but primarily on the Kinvara and GoBionic.

Overall I've had some mild soreness/tenderness in my calves some days, but nothing that has caused me to miss a day of running.  A couple of times my Achilles felt a little tender, but nothing to bad.  I would have considered it par for the course considering the change I was making.

Yesterday, near the end of a run in the Merrell's (only my 2nd time on them), I felt my Achilles really tighten up - or, I guess I don't know it was my Achilles, but it's basically the whole backside of my lower leg, primarily above the ankle but not up into the calf.  By the evening I was limping around.  I iced and have continued to ice today.  It's feeling a little better, but I certainly can't go run today.

I plan to swim tomorrow.  Then see how it is.  Do you guys have experience with this?  How long (in days, or in how it feels) should I force myself to avoid running?  Also, I plan to go with the Kinvaras only for a few days once I get back at it.  Ideally, I would like to swim tomorrow (Sat) and possibly run in the afternoon, or at least run on Sunday.  Thoughts?

Comments

• You're a prime example for "too much too early" ;-)