Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID Sign In with Twitter

In this Discussion

DISCLOSURE
VigLink badge

Minimal Shoes for Minimal Money?

This may be a bit of a rant, but I'm curious what others are thinking here.

I for one am kind of sick of seeing minimal/lightweight shoes that cost as much or more than their heavier/more traditional counterparts.  I'm sorry that I just don't care what technology Newtons have--I am NOT paying $150 for a pair of shoes! 

The price for the "middle of the line" stability shoe (Asics GT-2xxx series, Nike Air Structure Triax, Brooks Adrenaline) has gone up over time; when I was in high school over a decade ago, it was $90, and the price rose to $95-100 by the time I graduated college. Now if you look, it's up to about $110.  For some reason, my mind says minimal shoes should cost less than that, but they don't.

Am I the only person frustrated and perplexed by that?

Comments

• edited January 2013
    Not perplexed but frustrated, too. Given my history with durability issues I'm even more frustrated. My strategy is to be extremely picky with my shoes. It has to fit 100%. And I will refuse to buy shoes priced beyond a certain threshold.

Actually, I assume you reside in the across the pond, running shoes are usually 20 - 30% more expensive over here in Europe. Even more frustrating.
  • edited January 2013
    Even if this were a rant, it'd be a legitimate one imo.
    A price rise of about 22% (90-110) over more than a decade is rather normal, I think, considering CPI.
    My simple reasoning agrees that minimal shoes would mean less technology and less materials, so why isn't this reflected in a smaller price tag?

I can't help to follow up with a rant of my own: