Shoe Advice

edited December 2012 in Running Shoes - General
I need shoe advice.  I have been running in "minimal" shoes for about 2 years now (mostly the Saucony Kinvara, I use the A4/A5 for racing and speed work).  I have flat narrow feet.  Before this, I always wore stability trainers (Brooks Adrenaline and Asics 21XX).  My switch to minimal shoes has been pretty good for the most part except for one problem, my achilles are always sore.  When I ran in the "traditional" shoes, I never had this problem.  Does anyone know of a different shoe I could try that may help this?  I am open to anything that you might think will help.  

I am getting really frustrated with this problem, it does not seem to be getting any better.  It is worse in the morning (some days I can hardly walk) and takes a while to loosen up when I am running.

I usually run between 30 - 40 mpw.  5' 11", 160 lbs.  My 5K's are usually in the mid-17's and my normal training runs are 6:50 - 7:20 pace.  

Any ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Maybe try something with a 8mm drop?
  • Yeah, I was thinking of trying the Saucony Guide.  Does anyone have any experience with this shoe?
  • I'm afraid that I don't.

Just out of curiosity...would you describe it as "soreness" or "pain"?  Soreness should go away within a few weeks/months (it did for me when I went from 12mm to 4mm and from 4mm to zero drop).  The fact that you're noting it two years later seems like a red flag to me.

Do you have the soreness all the time?  Just after each run, or only after certain workouts?